2017 Contest Winners

to our
2017 contest winners!

1st Place - Grant Riedel, "And the Echoes"
2nd Place - Juliet Clark, "The Water Bottle"
Honorable Mention - Parker Oleson, "Rattlesnake"


Barbara Duffey is a 2015 NEA Literature Fellow in poetry and the author of two poetry collections, most recently Simple Machines (The Word Works 2016), which won the 2015 Washington Prize.  An assistant professor of English at Dakota Wesleyan University, she lives in Mitchell, SD, with her son.


Leah McCormack is an Assistant Professor of English at USD. Her stories have appeared in New England Review, Prairie Fire, Fiction, Redivider, North Dakota Quarterly, Hotel Amerika, REAL: Regarding Arts & Letters, The Portland Review, and South Dakota Review. She has her PhD in creative writing and literature from the University of Cincinnati and her MFA in creative writing from the City College of New York, City University of New York. 


Lindy Obach is a writer and teacher in Sioux Falls who loves working with Poetry Out Loud, the Challenge Center, and the VLP. She is also a board member of the South Dakota State Poetry Society.


K.S. Phillips is working on his Ph.D. in Creative Writing at the University of South Dakota. He has an MFA from Louisiana State University and an MA in Ancient History from the University of Minnesota. His fiction and essays have appeared in a variety of publications. His novel, The Mother of Dust, was finalist for novel-in-progress at the Words and Music Literary Festival in New Orleans.


Lee Ann Roripaugh is the author of four volumes of poetry: Dandarians (Milkweed Editions 2014), On the Cusp of a Dangerous Year (Southern Illinois University Press 2009), Year of the Snake (Southern Illinois University Press 2004), and Beyond Heart Mountain (Penguin 1999). A fifth volume, tsunami vs. the fukushima 50, is forthcoming from Milkweed in 2018. The current South Dakota State Poet Laureate, Roripaugh is a Professor of English at the University of South Dakota, where she serves as Director of Creative Writing and Editor-in-Chief of South Dakota Review.