Fluorinated Materials Group

Haoran Sun, Assistant Professor

Ph.D. 1996, Jilin University
Department of Chemistry
University of South Dakota 
Office: 315 Pardee-Estee Laboratory
Tel: 605-677-7284 Fax:605-677-6397
Current Openings: We are looking for postdocs and visiting professor/scholar who are interested in discovering new organic materials for high performance semiconductors. Candidates with both electronic and chemistry background would be the best fit, but one with strong chemistry background but less experience in the other area would also be considered. We are also welcome graduate and undergraduate students to join our fluorinated materials group.

To perspective students, postdocs, and visiting scholars: Our research program provides training for students in the fields of synthetic organic chemistry, fluorine chemistry, and optical and electronic materials chemistry. A student/postdoc working in our research group will gain practical experience in multi-step synthesis, modern separation and characterization techniques, air-sensitive techniques, modern electrochemical techniques including spectroelectrochemistry, and computational methods (ab initio, DFT, MP2). In addition to these technical skills, students will also gain knowledge and skill important to their professional development.

Group picture of Summer 2014
Group News

Recently, our lithium battery project was funded by NASA in collaboration with SDSM&T and SDSU. Our group's work is focused on fluorinated electrolyte materials for nonflammable lithium batteries.
March 19, 2014, our research project on Rational Design of Perfluoroalkylated N- and S-Containing Heteroaromatics for Engineering High Performance Air-stable OFET Materials with Lamellar pi-pi Stacked Structure was funded by the NSF CAREER program
March 6, 2014, Congratulations, Mo, for your successful PhD proposal defense. Nice work!
Feb. 6, 2014. Dr. Sun received a Teaching and Learning Grant from the Center for Teaching and Learning at USD.
Nov. 27, 2013. Congratulations Anji, Jeff, Dr. Wang for your new publication on Crystal Growth & Design 14, 350-356 (2014). doi:10.1021/cg401637a.
Nov. 26, 2013, Congratulations, Anji, for your successful PhD thesis defense. Excellent work!
Oct. 15, 2013. Our new interdisciplinary project with medical school was funded.
July 29, 2013. Congratulations Dr. Wang, Anji, Jeff, and Qiang for the acceptance of your manuscript for publication on JPC C.
July 19, 2013. Congratulations Jeff and Qiang for your publications on JPC A and ECS Transaction.
May 28, 2013. Undergraduate Matt Kibler from Notre Dame joins our group for REU summer research. Welcome, Matt!